Postal Service statement on H.R. 5714

“The United States Postal Service thanks House Oversight and Government Reform Chairman Jason Chaffetz, Ranking Member Elijah E. Cummings, Rep. Mark Meadows, Rep. Gerald E. Connolly, Rep. Stephen F. Lynch and the other members of the Committee for their leadership in introducing postal reform legislation and for unanimously passing of the Postal Service Reform Act of 2016, H.R. 5714, out of Committee today. This vote sends a strong signal that the bipartisan leadership of the Committee intends to bring postal reform legislation to the floor of the House for a vote this year. While the bill does not include all of the elements that the Postal Service requested, it is the product of reasonable compromise and represents a significant step toward returning the Postal Service to a position of financial stability that all stakeholders agree is necessary. We look forward to continuing to work with the House and Senate and our stakeholders to get a postal reform bill passed this Congress.”

- Postmaster General & CEO Megan J. Brennan.