Temporary Service Suspension

Effective April 7, 2020

The Postal Service will temporarily suspend international mail acceptance for certain destinations due to service impacts related to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Effective April 7, 2020, the Postal Service has temporarily suspended international mail acceptance to destinations where air and sea transportation is unavailable due to widespread cancellations and restrictions into the area. **Customers are asked to refrain from mailing items addressed to the countries listed below, until further notice.**

These service disruptions affect Priority Mail Express International® (PMEI), Priority Mail International® (PMI), First-Class Mail International® (FCMI), First-Class Package International Service® (FCPIS®), International Priority Airmail® (IPA®), International Surface Air Lift® (ISAL®), and M-Bag® items.

For already deposited items, other than GXG, Postal Service employees will endorse the items as "Mail Service Suspended — Return to Sender" and then place them in the mail stream for return.

For any returned item bearing a customs form, the Postal Service will, upon request, refund postage and fees on mail returned due to the suspension of service.

For all other returned items not bearing a customs declarations form, the Postal Service will, upon request, refund postage and fees on mail returned due to the suspension of service, or the sender may re-mail them with the existing postage once service has been restored. When remailing under this option, customers must cross out the markings "Mail Service Suspended — Return to Sender."

Unless otherwise noted, service suspensions to a particular country do not affect delivery of military and diplomatic mail.

USPS is closely monitoring the situation and will continue to update customers until the situation returns to normal.

- 1. Angola
- 2. Benin
- 3. Bosnia and Herzegovina
- 4. Cameroon
- 5. Cook Islands
- 6. Costa Rica
- 7. Gambia
- 8. Guatemala
- 9. Kyrgyzstan

- 10.Laos
- 11. Lebanon
- 12. Malawi
- 13. Moldova
- 14. Mozambique
- 15. Papua New Guinea
- 16. Paraguay
- 17. Republic of the Congo
- 18. Senegal
- 19. Seychelles
- 20. Solomon Islands
- 21.Sudan
- 22. Tajikistan
- 23. Tanzania
- 24. Timor-Leste
- 25. Tonga
- 26. Uganda
- 27. Uruguay
- 28. Vanuatu
- 29. Venezuela