Stamp Overview

In the spring of 2008, the U.S. Postal Service® intro­duced Set 1 of Flags of Our Nation, a 3-year, multi-stamp series, featuring the Stars and Stripes, the 50 state flags, five territorial flags and the District of Columbia flag.

Set 2 will be issued in the fall and will feature flags from the District of Columbia through Kansas. The same pro­cess will be repeated in 2009 and 2010, for a total of 60 stamp designs. Four of the six groups of 10 will include a Stars and Stripes stamp.

In addition to the flag art, each stamp design includes artwork that provides a snapshot view of the state or other area represented by a particular flag.