United States Postal Service

The Post Office Department was transformed into the United States Postal Service, an independent establishment of the executive branch of the Government of the United States. The mission of the Postal Service remained the same, as stated in Title 39 of the U.S. Code:


The Postal Service shall have as its basic function the obligation to provide postal services to bind the Nation together through the personal, educational, literary, and business correspondence of the people. It shall provide prompt, reliable, and efficient services to patrons in all areas and shall render postal services to all communities.


The new Postal Service officially began operations on July 1, 1971, when the Postmaster General ceased to be a member of the President’s Cabinet. The Postal Service received:


Operational authority vested in a Board of Governors and Postal Service executive management, rather than in Congress.


Authority to issue public bonds to finance postal buildings and mechanization.


Direct collective bargaining between representatives of management and the unions.


A new rate-setting procedure, built around an independent Postal Rate Commission.


The Postal Reorganization Act changed the United States postal system in many ways.