Previous Page page 8 of 55 Next Page

board of governors

As the governing body of the Postal Service, the 11-member Board of Governors has responsibilities comparable to a board of directors of a publicly held corporation. The Board is composed of nine Governors appointed by the President of the United States with the advice and consent of the Senate. Not more than five Governors may be members of the same political party. The other two members of the Board are the Postmaster General and the Deputy Postmaster General. The Governors appoint the Postmaster General, who serves at their pleasure without a specific term of office. The Governors, together with the Postmaster General, appoint the Deputy Postmaster General.

The Board meets on a scheduled basis and, at the annual meeting in January, the Chairman is elected by the Governors from among all members of the Board. The Vice Chairman is elected by the full Board.

The Board directs the exercise of the power of the Postal Service. It establishes policies, basic objectives, and long-range goals for the Postal Service in accordance with Title 39 of the United States Code. The Governors are authorized to establish reasonable and equitable classes of mail and reasonable and equitable rates of postage and fees for postal service. A specific power reserved by statute for the Governors alone is to approve, allow under protest, reject or, by unanimous written decision, modify recommended decisions of the Postal Rate Commission on postal rate and mail classification changes.

S. DAVID FINEMAN, CHAIRMAN S. DAVID FINEMAN, CHAIRMAN Appointed May 1995, term expires December 2004. Elected Chairman, January 2003. Served as Vice Chairman, January 2001 through December 2002. Member, Strategic Planning and Audit and Finance Committees. Managing partner, Fineman Krekstein & Harris, P.C. Former member, Industry Policy Advisory Committee to the U.S. Secretary of Commerce and U.S. Trade Representative on international trade policy. ALAN C. KESSLER ALAN C. KESSLER Appointed November 2000. Term expires December 2008. Chairman, Strategic Planning Committee. Attorney and entrepreneur; Partner, Wolf, Block, Schorr and Solis-Cohen, LLP; Member, Board of Directors, Philadelphia Industrial Development Corporation; Chairman, Pennsylvania Supreme Court Continuing Legal Education Board.
JOHN F. WALSH, VICE CHAIRMAN JOHN F. WALSH, VICE CHAIRMAN Appointed November 1999. Term expires December 2006. Elected Vice Chairman January 2003. Chairman, Capital Projects Committee. Former President, Ninth Square Association and Deputy Controller and Purchasing Agent, City of New Haven, Connecticut; Member, Board of Directors, Greater New Haven Chamber of Commerce. JAMES C. MILLER III JAMES C. MILLER III Appointed April 2003. Term expires December 2010. Member, Audit and Finance Committee. Chairman, The CapAnalysis Group; Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution at Stanford University; Former Director, U.S. Office of Management and Budget; Former Chairman, U.S. Federal Trade Commission.
LEGREE S. DANIELS LEGREE S. DANIELS Appointed August 1990. Reappointed November 1999. Term expires December 2007. Member, Capital Projects Committee. Former Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education; Former member, U.S. Civil Rights Commission; Former member, Board of Directors, Center for International Private Enterprise; and member, Board of Directors, Heinz Center. ROBERT F. RIDER ROBERT F. RIDER Appointed May 1995. Term expires December 2004. Served as Chairman, January 2001 through December 2002. Served as Vice Chairman, January 1999 through December 2000. Chairman, Audit and Finance Committee. Chairman and CEO, O.A. Newton & Son Co.; Trustee, University of Delaware and Wilmington Medical Center; Director of numerous companies and institutions.
LOUIS J. GIULIANO LOUIS J. GIULIANO Appointed November 2004 through a recess appointment expiring in late 2005. With Senate confirmation, term expires December 2009. Chairman of the Board of Directors of ITT Industries and former President and Chief Executive Officer. Director of The ServiceMaster Company; Honorary Chairman of the Westchester County Red Cross Armed Forces Emergency Services. CAROLYN LEWIS GALLAGHER CAROLYN LEWIS GALLAGHER Appointed November 2004 through a recess appointment expiring in late 2005. With Senate confirmation, term expires December 2005. Member of the President's Commission on the U.S. Postal Service; Former President and Chief Executive Officer of Texwood Furniture, Inc.; A trustee and the immediate past chair of the board of St. Edward's University; and a Trustee of the Texas Employee's Retirement System.
JOHN E. POTTER Appointed 72nd Postmaster General and Chief Executive Officer of the United States Postal Service in June 2001. Potter has served as Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President; Senior Vice President, Operations; Senior Vice President, Labor Relations; and Manager, Capital Metro Operations. JOHN NOLAN Appointed 17th Deputy Postmaster General in February 2000. Nolan has served as General Manager and Postmaster for New York; Director of Operations for Merrill Lynch Production Technologies; Executive Board, National Postal Policy Council and the Mailers Council; Co-chairman of the Mailing Industry Task Force.