Benjamin Franklin Award

The Benjamin Franklin Award, the highest award given by the Postal Service, dates back to 1960, when Postmaster General Summerfield approved a Benjamin Franklin Award for presentation to members of special advisory groups, members of Congress, or employees making a contribution not connected with official employment or beyond that recognized in the existing awards program.

On December 15, 1960, Summerfield presented the Benjamin Franklin Award, in the form of a certificate, to the 12 members of the Citizens Stamp Advisory Committee: William H. Buckley, Arnold J. Copeland, Ervine Metzl, Franklin R. Bruns Jr., Bernard Davis, Sol Glass, Harry Lindquist, Abbott Washburn, Robert Sivard, C. Robert Payne, Roberts E. Fellers, and Donald R. McLeod. Summerfield also presented the award to his liaison to the committee, L. Rohe Walter, the Special Assistant to the Postmaster General, Public Information.

In 1962, Summerfield's successor, Postmaster General J. Edward Day, approved the Benjamin Franklin Award for appointed (non-career) postal officials who demonstrated outstanding and unusual leadership. The major purpose of the award was to honor officials who could not be considered for the Department's regular awards, which were limited to career postal employees. On November 2, 1962, in Headquarters Circular 62-42, Day announced the establishment of the Benjamin Franklin Award and outlined the following criteria:

- a. Recipient will have served at least two years in a responsible position in the Department.
- b. His accomplishments will have had a unique impact on major programs of the Post Office Department.
- c. His accomplishments will have had one or both of the following effects, to an unusual degree: significant improvement of service to the public or general overall improvement of operations.
- d. His accomplishments are within the personal knowledge of the Postmaster General.

The Postmaster General designates persons to be honored by this award; nominations are not made to him.

Frederick C. Belen, Assistant Postmaster General, Operations, received the first Benjamin Franklin Award under the new guidelines on February 25, 1963. The award was described as "a walnut plaque, appropriately routed to hold a Parian Ware bust of Benjamin Franklin, an original 1847 issue of a five-cent Benjamin Franklin stamp, and an engraved metal plate." Parian ware is a hard white porcelain resembling marble.

In 1965, the two-year employment requirement was waived when the award was issued to Ira Kapenstein, and on July 8, 1969, revised instructions eliminated this requirement. Since 1971, the non-career requirement has no longer been applicable, as all postal officials appointed since Reorganization have been career employees. A list of award recipients follows.



Postmaster General Albert V.
Casey received the Benjamin
Franklin Award shortly before he
resigned in August 1986. He was
the first Postmaster General to
receive the award while still in
office. Postmasters General
Anthony Frank (1992), Marvin
Runyon (1998), and John Potter
(2010) also received the award
near the end of their terms.

Benjamin Franklin Award Recipients

Name and Title	Postmaster General	Date
Franklin R. Bruns, Jr.	Summerfield	12/31/1960
Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee		
William H. Buckley	Summerfield	12/31/1960
Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee	6.11	40/04/4000
Arnold J. Copeland	Summerfield	12/31/1960
Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee	Summerfield	40/04/4000
Bernard Davis Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee	Summemera	12/31/1960
Robert E. Fellers	Summerfield	12/31/1960
Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee	Summemera	12/31/1900
Sol Glass	Summerfield	12/31/1960
Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee	Cammona	12/01/1000
Harry Lindquist	Summerfield	12/31/1960
Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee		
Donald R. McLeod	Summerfield	12/31/1960
Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee		
Ervine Metzl	Summerfield	12/31/1960
Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee		
C. Robert Payne	Summerfield	12/31/1960
Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee		
Robert Sivard	Summerfield	12/31/1960
Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee		40/04/4000
Abbott Washburn	Summerfield	12/31/1960
Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee	0	40/45/4000
L. Rohe Walter	Summerfield	12/15/1960
Special Assistant to the Postmaster General Frederick C. Belen	Day	2/25/1963
Assistant Postmaster General, Operations	Day	2/23/1903
James F. Kelleher	Day	8/8/1963
Special Assistant to the Postmaster General for Public	Zaj	0,0,1000
Information		
Ralph W. Nicholson	Gronouski	9/17/1964
Assistant Postmaster General, Finance and		
Administration		
Ira Kapenstein	Gronouski	8/27/1965
Special Assistant to the Postmaster General for Public		
Information		
Richard J. Murphy	O'Brien	11/4/1966
Assistant Postmaster General, Personnel	OID :: - :-	44/0/4007
William M. McMillan	O'Brien	11/3/1967
Assistant Postmaster General, Operations Timothy J. May	Watson	1/17/1969
General Counsel	Walson	1/11/1909
Frederick E. Batrus	Watson	1/17/1969
Assistant Postmaster General, Transportation	Valoon	171771000
David A. Nelson	Blount	7/24/1969
General Counsel		
Paul N. Carlin	Blount	9/25/1970
Executive Assistant to the Postmaster General		
E. T. Klassen	Blount	11/12/1970
Deputy Postmaster General		
Frank Nunlist	Blount	6/4/1971
Assistant Postmaster General, Operations	171	0/4/42=2
James W. Hargrove	Klassen	3/1/1972
Senior Assistant Postmaster General, Finance		

ELID	B. I.	0/0/4070
Edward Dorsey	Bolger	6/2/1979
Senior Assistant Postmaster General, Operations	Dalasa	7/44/4000
James V. P. Conway	Bolger	7/11/1980
Deputy Postmaster General	Dalaaa	0/0/4 004
Myron A. Wright	Bolger	2/6/1981
Chairman, Board of Governors	D. I.	4/00/4000
Emmett E. Cooper, Jr.	Bolger	1/26/1983
Regional Postmaster General, Southern Region		0/4/4000
Carl C. Ulsaker	Bolger	2/4/1983
Senior Assistant Postmaster General, Special Projects		
C. Neil Benson	Bolger	5/30/1983
Deputy Postmaster General		
Robert L. Hardesty	Bolger	9/10/1984
Chairman, Board of Governors		
Warren M. Bloomberg	Bolger	10/11/1984
MSC Manager/Postmaster, Baltimore, Maryland		
William F. Bolger	Carlin	1/4/1985
Postmaster General		
Joseph F. Morris	Carlin	3/1/1985
Senior Assistant Postmaster General, Employee and		
Labor Relations		
Francis X. Biglin	Carlin	5/22/1985
Senior Assistant Postmaster General, Administration		
Albert V. Casey	Strange (Deputy	8/7/1986
Postmaster General	Postmaster General)	
Jackie A. Strange	Tisch	12/8/1986
Deputy Postmaster General		
Louis A. Cox	Frank	3/6/1990
General Counsel		
William Ford	Frank	1/31/1991
Chairman, Committee on Post Office and Civil Service,		
U.S. House of Representatives		
Anthony M. Frank	Coughlin (Deputy	2/27/1992
Postmaster General	Postmaster General)	
Marvin Runyon	Board of Governors	5/4/1998
Postmaster General	200.00.000	o, .,
Michael S. Coughlin	Henderson	5/18/1999
Deputy Postmaster General	110110010011	0, 10, 1000
Clarence E. Lewis, Jr.	Henderson	3/20/2000
Chief Operating Officer	110110010011	0/20/2000
Richard Porras	Henderson	3/20/2000
Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President	. 10110010011	0,20,200
James F. Van Loozen	Henderson	10/13/2000
Manager, Public Policy Communications	rienderson	10/13/2000
Richard J. Strasser, Jr.	Potter	11/18/2004
Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President	i Ottei	11/10/2004
Patrick R. Donahoe	Potter	10/19/2009
	FULLEI	10/19/2009
Deputy Postmaster General	Board of Carrage	44/40/0040
John E. Potter	Board of Governors	11/12/2010
Postmaster General	Dalass	0/45/0000
Megan J. Brennan	DeJoy	6/15/2020
Former Postmaster General		

Endnote:
1. Post Office Department Memorandum dated October 8, 1965, from the director of Employee Benefits and Services Division, Bureau of Personnel, to the Deputy Assistant Postmaster General for Industrial Relations, Bureau of Personnel (in files of USPS Historian).