Benjamin Franklin Award Recipients

The Benjamin Franklin Award, the highest award given by the Postal Service, dates back to 1960, when Postmaster General Summerfield approved the award for presentation to members of special advisory groups, members of Congress, or employees making a contribution not connected with official employment or beyond that recognized in the existing awards program.

In 1962, Postmaster General Day approved the Benjamin Franklin Award for appointed (non-career) postal officials who demonstrated outstanding leadership. The major purpose of the award was to honor officials who could not be considered for the Department's regular awards, which were limited to career postal employees. Since 1971, the non-career requirement has no longer applied, because all postal officials have been career employees. On occasion, the award has been given by the Deputy Postmaster General or the Board of Governors. A list of award recipients, with the name of the Postmaster General who made the award and date of the award, follows.

| Recipient Name and Title | Awarded by | Date |
|--|--------------|--------------|
| Franklin R. Bruns, Jr. | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Summerneid | 12/31/1960 |
| William H. Buckley | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Summerneid | 12/31/1960 |
| Arnold J. Copeland | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Summemen | 12/3 1/ 1900 |
| Bernard Davis | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Sullinellelu | 12/3 1/ 1900 |
| Robert E. Fellers | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Garrinericia | 12/3 1/ 1300 |
| Sol Glass | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Summermen | 12/3 1/ 1900 |
| Harry Lindquist | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Garrinericia | 12/3 1/ 1900 |
| Donald R. McLeod | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Summemen | 12/31/1900 |
| Ervine Metzl | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Summermelu | 12/3 1/ 1900 |
| C. Robert Payne | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Summemen | 12/31/1900 |
| Robert Sivard | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Sullinellelu | 12/3 1/ 1900 |
| Abbott Washburn | Summerfield | 12/31/1960 |
| Member, Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee | Summemen | 12/3 1/ 1900 |
| L. Rohe Walter | Summerfield | 12/15/1960 |
| Special Assistant to the Postmaster General | Summemera | 12/13/1960 |
| Frederick C. Belen | Day | 2/25/1963 |
| Assistant Postmaster General, Operations | Day | 2/23/1903 |
| James F. Kelleher | Day | 8/8/1963 |
| Special Assistant to the Postmaster General for Public Information | Day | 6/6/1903 |
| Ralph W. Nicholson | Gronouski | 9/17/1964 |
| Assistant Postmaster General, Finance and Administration | Groriouski | 9/17/1904 |
| Ira Kapenstein | Gronouski | 8/27/1965 |
| Special Assistant to the Postmaster General for Public Information | Gronouski | 0/27/1905 |
| Richard J. Murphy | O'Brien | 11/4/1066 |
| Assistant Postmaster General, Personnel | Obliefi | 11/4/1966 |
| William M. McMillan | OlDrien | 11/2/1067 |
| Assistant Postmaster General, Operations | O'Brien | 11/3/1967 |
| Timothy J. May | Mataria | 4/47/4000 |
| General Counsel | Watson | 1/17/1969 |
| Frederick E. Batrus | Mataga | 414714000 |
| Assistant Postmaster General, Transportation | Watson | 1/17/1969 |
| David A. Nelson | DI | 7/04/4000 |
| General Counsel | Blount | 7/24/1969 |
| Paul N. Carlin | DI 1 | 0/05/4070 |
| Executive Assistant to the Postmaster General | Blount | 9/25/1970 |

| E. T. Klassen | | |
|---|-----------------------------|-------------|
| Deputy Postmaster General | Blount | 11/12/1970 |
| Frank Nunlist | | 0/4/4074 |
| Assistant Postmaster General, Operations | Blount | 6/4/1971 |
| James W. Hargrove | Vlaccon | 2/4/4072 |
| Senior Assistant Postmaster General, Finance | Klassen | 3/1/1972 |
| Edward Dorsey | Bolger | 6/2/1979 |
| Senior Assistant Postmaster General, Operations | Боідеі | 0/2/19/9 |
| James V. P. Conway | Bolger | 7/11/1980 |
| Deputy Postmaster General | | 771171000 |
| Myron A. Wright | Bolger | 2/6/1981 |
| Chairman, Board of Governors | | |
| Emmett E. Cooper, Jr. | Bolger | 1/26/1983 |
| Regional Postmaster General, Southern Region Carl C. Ulsaker | | |
| Senior Assistant Postmaster General, Special Projects | Bolger | 2/4/1983 |
| C. Neil Benson | | |
| Deputy Postmaster General | Bolger | 5/30/1983 |
| Robert L. Hardesty | | |
| Chairman, Board of Governors | Bolger | 9/10/1984 |
| Warren M. Bloomberg | | |
| MSC Manager/Postmaster, Baltimore, Maryland | Bolger | 10/11/1984 |
| William F. Bolger | 0 1: | 4/4/4005 |
| Postmaster General | Carlin | 1/4/1985 |
| Joseph F. Morris | Carlin | 2/4/4005 |
| Senior Assistant Postmaster General, Employee and Labor Relations | Cariiri | 3/1/1985 |
| Francis X. Biglin | Carlin | 5/22/1985 |
| Senior Assistant Postmaster General, Administration | | 3/22/1903 |
| Albert V. Casey | Strange | 8/7/1986 |
| Postmaster General | (Deputy Postmaster General) | 0/1/1000 |
| Jackie A. Strange | Tisch | 12/8/1986 |
| Deputy Postmaster General | | |
| Louis A. Cox | Frank | 3/6/1990 |
| General Counsel William Ford, | | |
| Chairman, House Committee on Post Office and Civil Service | Frank | 1/31/1991 |
| Anthony M. Frank | Coughlin | |
| Postmaster General | (Deputy Postmaster General) | 2/27/1992 |
| Marvin Runyon | | |
| Postmaster General | Board of Governors | 5/4/1998 |
| Michael S. Coughlin | Handanan | E/40/4000 |
| Deputy Postmaster General | Henderson | 5/18/1999 |
| Clarence E. Lewis, Jr. | Henderson | 3/20/2000 |
| Chief Operating Officer | Heliderson | 3/20/2000 |
| Richard Porras | Henderson | 3/20/2000 |
| Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President | Heriderson | 3/20/2000 |
| James F. Van Loozen | Henderson | 10/13/2000 |
| Manager, Public Policy Communications | | 10, 10,2000 |
| Richard J. Strasser, Jr. | Potter | 11/18/2004 |
| Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President | | |
| Patrick R. Donahoe | Potter | 10/19/2009 |
| Deputy Postmaster General | | |
| John E. Potter | Board of Governors | 11/12/2010 |
| Postmaster General Megan I Brennan | | |
| Megan J. Brennan Former Postmaster General | DeJoy | 6/15/2020 |
| i omici i ostinastei General | | |