[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Board of Governors

As the governing body of the Postal Service, the 11-member Board of Governors has responsibilities comparable to a board of directors of a publicly held corporation. The Board is composed of nine Governors appointed by the President of the United States with the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than five Governors can be members of the same political party.

The other two members of the Board are the Postmaster General and the Deputy Postmaster General. The Governors appoint the Postmaster General, who serves at their pleasure without a specific term of office. The Governors, together with the Postmaster General, appoint the Deputy Postmaster General.

Alan C. Kessler

Alan C. Kessler Chairman. Appointed November 2000. Term expires December 2008. Partner at WolfBlock, LLP. Member of the Presidential Transition Team, 1992–93. Former Vice Chair of the Presidential/Congressional Commission on Risk Assessment and Risk Management. Member of Electoral College, 2000. Serves on Boards of the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce and the Philadelphia Industrial Development Corp. Former commissioner for Lower Merion Township, PA.

Mickey D.Barnett

Mickey D. Barnett Appointed August 2006. Term expires December 2013. Vice Chairman, Government Relations and Regulatory Committee and member, Governance and Strategic Planning Committee. Attorney in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Former member, New Mexico State Senate. Former member, Appellate Nominating Commission for the New Mexico Supreme Court of Appeals. Former Legislative Assistant to Senator Pete Domenici of New Mexico.

Carolyn Lewis Gallagher

Carolyn Lewis Gallagher Vice Chairman of the Board of Governors since January 2008. Chairman, Compensation and Management Resources Committee and Vice Chairman, Audit and Finance Committee. Director of Home Therapy Specialists, Inc. Former President and CEO of Texwood Furniture, Inc. Former Trustee and Chairman, Texas Employees’ Retirement System. Appointed by President Bush in 2003 to serve on the President’s Commission on the USPS.

James H. Bilbray

James H. Bilbray Appointed August 2006. Term expires December 2015. Vice Chairman, Governance and Strategic Planning Committee and member, Government Relations and Regulatory Committee. Attorney in Las Vegas, Nevada. Former member, U.S. House of Representatives from Nevada. Former member, Nevada State Senate. Former Deputy District Attorney in Clark County, Nevada.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]