The Board of Governors

As the governing body of the Postal Service, the 11-member Board of Governors has responsibilities comparable to the board of directors of a publicly held corporation. The Board is made up of nine Governors appointed by the President of the United States with the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than five Governors can be members of the same political party.

The other two members of the Board are the Postmaster General and the Deputy Postmaster General. The Governors appoint the Postmaster General, who serves at their pleasure without a specific term of office. The Governors, together with the Postmaster General, appoint the Deputy Postmaster General.

In 2015, the President of the United States made five Governor nominations, each of which awaits Senate action. If the Senate does not confirm any of the Governor nominees prior to December 8, 2015 — the date on which two of our three active, independent Governors’ terms expire — our Board will consist of only one Governor plus the Postmaster General and Deputy Postmaster General.

The critical responsibilities of our Governors include setting our rates and appointing our Postmaster General and Deputy Postmaster General. In the event that no Governors are in place, these critical responsibilities may not be completed, leaving us without the ability to adjust our rates as needed, and without the ability to appoint or replace our two most senior executive officers as needed.

James H. Bilbray

Acting Chairman of the Board of Governors. Member of the Compensation and Management Resources Committee. Attorney at the law firm of Kaempfer Crowell Renshaw Gronauer & Fiorentino in Las Vegas, NV. Former member, U.S. House of Representatives from Nevada. Former member, Nevada State Senate. Former Deputy District Attorney in Clark County, NV. Member of 2005 Defense Base Closure and Realignment Commission.

Louis J. GiulianoLouis J. Giuliano

Past Chairman of the Board of Governors, 2010 and 2011. Vice Chairman of the Board of Governors, 2009. Chairman, Audit and Finance Committee and Operations Subcommittee, and member, Compensation and Management Resources Committee. Former Chairman of the Board of Directors, Chief Executive Officer and President of ITT Corp. Senior Advisor to The Carlyle Group. Member of the Board of Accudyne Industries. Active member of the CEO Forum and the Advisory Board for the Princeton University Faith and Work Initiative and a Founder of Workforce Ministries. Prior Board positions include Engelhard Corp., ServiceMaster and JMC Steel Group. Non-executive Chairman of the Board of Vectrus Corporation and Chairman of Meadowkirk Retreat Center.

Ellen C. WilliamsEllen C. Williams

Chairman of the Compensation and Management Resources Committee and a member of the Audit and Finance Committee. Partner in MML&K, a government relations firm with offices in Frankfort, KY, and Washington, DC. Former owner and CEO of Capital Network. Former Vice Chairman of the Kentucky Public Service Commission from 2004 to 2005. Former Commissioner of the Governor’s Office for Local Development in Kentucky from 2005 to 2006. Former Chairman of the Republican Party of Kentucky from 1999 to 2004. Former executive assistant to Senator Bob Kasten.

Megan J. Brennan

In February 2015 was named the 74th Postmaster General of the United States and the Chief Executive Officer, and a member of the Board of Governors. Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President of the Postal Service from December 2010 through January 2015. Vice President of the Eastern Area Operations from April 2005 through December 2006, and Vice President of the Northeast Area Operations from December 2006 through December 2010. Started her career as a letter carrier in 1986, and is the first female Postmaster General for the Postal Service.

Ronald A. Stroman

20th Deputy Postmaster General and member of the Board of Governors of the United States Postal Service since April 2, 2011. Served as Minority Staff Director, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform at the U.S. House of Representatives from 2009 to April 2011. Prior to this, served as Managing Director, Office of Opportunity and Inclusiveness, U.S. General Accounting Office, from 2001 to 2009.