The Board of Governors

As the governing body of the United States Postal Service, the Board of Governors has responsibilities comparable to the board of directors of a publicly held corporation. The Board normally consists of up to nine Governors appointed by the President of the United States with the advice and consent of the Senate, with no more than five Governors as members of the same political party.

The other two members of the Board are the Postmaster General and the Deputy Postmaster General. The Governors appoint the Postmaster General, who serves at their pleasure without a specific term of office. The Governors, together with the Postmaster General, appoint the Deputy Postmaster General.

As of November 2014, the Governors issued a resolution regarding the exercise of those powers conferred by law solely to the Governors as distinguished from the full Board, which include the appointment and removal of the Postmaster General and the establishment of prices and classifications for our services. The Governors determined that their ability to exercise those powers reserved to the Governors’ was not impacted by the loss of a Board quorum. In FY2016, the Board has been operating under authority delegated to the Temporary Emergency Committee (TEC), which includes one Governor, the Postmaster General, and the Deputy Postmaster General.

The TEC will continue in existence until the Board is again able to assemble a quorum.

James H. Bilbray

James H. Bilbray

Chairman of the Board of Governors. Member of the Compensation and Management Resources Committee and the Audit & Finance Committee. Attorney at a law firm in Las Vegas, NV. Former member, U.S. House of Representatives from Nevada. Former member, Nevada State Senate. Former Deputy District Attorney in Clark County, NV. Member of 2005 Defense Base Closure and Realignment Commission. At the end of our fiscal year, September 30, 2016, Gov. Bilbray was serving a hold over year that expired Dec. 8, 2016. While by law the Board should include nine Governors, due to the lack of Senate confirmation we no longer have any appointed Governors on the Board.

Megan J. Brennan

74th Postmaster General of the United States and the Chief Executive Officer, and a member of the Board of Governors since Feb. 1, 2015. Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President of the Postal Service from December 2010 through January 2015. Vice President of the Eastern Area Operations from April 2005 through December 2006, and Vice President of the Northeast Area Operations from December 2006 through December 2010. Started her career as a letter carrier in 1986, and is the first female Postmaster General for the Postal Service.

Ronald A. Stroman

20th Deputy Postmaster General and member of the Board of Governors since Apr. 2, 2011. Served as Minority Staff Director, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform at the U.S. House of Representatives from 2009 to April 2011. Prior to this, served as Managing Director, Office of Opportunity and Inclusiveness, U.S. Government Accountability Office, from 2001 to 2009.