The Board of Governors

As the governing body of the Postal Service, the 11-member Board of Governors has responsibilities comparable to the board of directors of a publicly held corporation. The Board is made up of nine Governors appointed by the President of the United States with the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than five Governors can be members of the same political party. The Board currently has two seats vacant.

The other two members of the Board are the Postmaster General and the Deputy Postmaster General. The Governors appoint the Postmaster General, who serves at their pleasure without a specific term of office. The Governors, together with the Postmaster General, appoint the Deputy Postmaster General.

picture of the seven presidentially appointed govenors

The seven presidentially appointed govenors currently serving are: Vice Chairman Thurgood Marshall, Jr., Ellen C. Williams, Dennis J. Toner, Chairman Louis J. Giuliano, James C. Miller III, James H. Bilbray and Mickey D. Barnett.

Louis J. Giuliano

Appointed November 2004. Term expires December 2014. Chairman since January 2010. Vice Chairman, February 2009 to January 2010. Chairman, Operations Subcommittee. Member, Compensation and Management Resources Committee. Former Chairman of Board of Directors, President and Chief Executive Officer of ITT Corp. Senior Advisor at the Carlyle Group. Formerly a Director of the Service Master Company.

Thurgood Marshall, Jr.

Appointed December 2006. Term expires December 2011. Vice Chairman since January 2010. Chairman, Government Relations and Regulatory Committee. Member, Audit and Finance Committee. Partner at Bingham McCutchen and principal with Bingham Consulting Group. Served President Clinton as Assistant to the President and Cabinet Secretary. Former Director of Legislative Affairs and Deputy Counsel for Vice President Gore. Director, Corrections Corporation of America.

Mickey D. Barnett

Appointed August 2006. Term expires December 2013. Member, Compensation and Management Resources Committee. Member, Audit and Finance Committee. Attorney in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Former member, New Mexico State Senate. Former member, Appellate Nominating Commission for the New Mexico Supreme Court of Appeals. Former Legislative Assistant to Senator Pete Domenici of New Mexico.

James H. Bilbray

Appointed August 2006. Term expires December 2015. Member, Governance and Strategic Planning Committee. Member, Government Relations and Regulatory Committee. Attorney at Kaempfer Crowell Renshaw Gronauer and Fiorentino in Las Vegas, Nevada. Former member, U.S. House of Representatives from Nevada. Former member, Nevada State Senate. Former Deputy District Attorney in Clark County, Nevada. Member of 2005 Base Realignment and Closing Commission.

James C. Miller III

Appointed April 2003. Term expires December 2010. Past Chairman, January 2005 through January 2008. Chairman, Audit and Finance Committee, and member, Governance and Strategic Planning Committee. Senior Advisor, Husch Blackwell Sanders, LLP. Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution at Stanford University, and the Center for Study of Public Choice at George Mason University since 1988. Member of Boards of Washington Mutual Investors Fund, America Fund Tax-Exempt Series I, the JP Morgan Value Opportunities Fund and Clean Energy Fuels Corp. Former Director, U.S. Office of Management and Budget, 1985 to 1988. Former Chairman, U.S. Federal Trade Commission, 1981 to 1985. Formerly a director of FLYi, Inc.

Dennis J. Toner

Appointed September 2010. Term expires December 2012. Member of the Compensation and Management Resources Committee. Founder and principal since 2006 of Horizon Advisors, a private consulting business. Deputy Chief of Staff to then-Senator and now-Vice President Joseph Biden, Jr. from 1995 to 2005.

Ellen C. Williams

Appointed August 2006. Term expires December 2014. Chairman, Compensation and Management Resources Committee, and member, Government Relations and Regulatory Committee. Owner and CEO of Capital Network, government affairs and lobbying firm. Former Vice Chairman, Kentucky Public Services Commission from 2004 to 2005. Former Commissioner, Governor’s Office for Local Development in Kentucky from 2005 to 2006. Former Chairman, Kentucky Republican Party from 1999 to 2004. Former executive assistant to Senator Bob Kasten.

Patrick R. Donahoe

Appointed the 73rd Postmaster General of the United States of America since December 2010. Donahoe has served as the Deputy Postmaster General and Chief Operating Officer, the Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President, Senior Vice President of Operations, Senior Vice President of Human Resources and Vice President of Allegheny Area Operations.

Ronald A. Stroman

Appointed the 20th Deputy Postmaster General since April 2011. Stroman has been an attorney with the Department of Housing and Urban Development, counsel on the Judiciary Committee of the U.S. House of Representatives, deputy minority staff director for the House Government Reform and Oversight Committee, managing director, Office of Opportunity and Inclusiveness, General Accounting Office, and staff director, House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform prior to joining the Postal Service.