Architectural Barriers Act of 1968


The Postal Service follows the requirements of the Architectural Barriers Act of 1968 (ABA) and is not subject to the more recent Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA). ABA compliance by the Postal Service is addressed in regulations such as 39 C.F.R. 255.8, and the Administrative Support Manual (e.g., § 519.41). The Postal Service has also adopted accessibility standards developed by the Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board (Access Board) in the form of Handbook RE-4 Standards for Facility Accessibility. The USPS Facilities organization has assigned Facilities staff to investigate and resolve alleged violations of ABA standards at Postal Service facilities. If the Postal Service's investigation determines that a different entity is responsible for the alleged violation, the Postal Service will inform the individual who reported the alleged violation of where to file a complaint against that other entity, if possible. More information is available at: Facilities Accessibility Compliance.

The ABA requires that Postal Service facilities designed, built, altered, or leased with federal funds after September 2, 1969 must satisfy applicable accessibility standards. However, owned facilities that have not been altered since 1969 are not subject to ABA standards until certain types of alterations occur.

The Access Board enforces ABA requirements through the investigation of complaints from the public, including Postal Service employees. Individuals may file a complaint with the Access Board if they believe that a Postal Service facility does not meet applicable accessibility requirements. Information on the complaint process may be found at: To file a complaint, go to this webpage and click on the link titled "Online ABA Complaint Form."


The following Postal Service employee is responsible for ensuring the physical accessibility of the Postal Service’s facilities under the ABA:

Program Manager 
Facilities Accessibility Compliance 
475 L'Enfant Plaza SW 
Washington, D.C. 20260-1862